Student Counseling Services and Family Support

Salem Public Schools provides a range of student and family services in all PreK-12 schools and seeks to ensure every student has what they need to thrive in school and the community. 

A team of certified school counselors across the district assist leaders and teaching staff in proactively building learning environments where each student feels a sense of belonging, confidence, and autonomy.  

At each level, School Adjustment Counselors, City Connects Coordinators, and College and Career Counselors work as a team to provide comprehensive school counseling programs that incorporate prevention and intervention activities. Counselors are available to respond to the social, emotional, and mental health needs that arise with students and offer direct individual and group counseling to assist students in developing skills necessary to fully engage in school. College and Career Counselors at the high school level are instrumental in preparing students for post high school graduation, as well as college and career awareness. 

If you would like to connect with a counselor at your child’s school, please visit the school directory or contact the main office at your school.

If you would like more information on the student and family support services offered at Salem Public Schools, please contact Adam Colantuoni, Executive Director of Student Services and Family Support at 978-740-1211 or acolantuoni@salemk12.org.

Salem Public School City Connects Coordinators – 2021-2022

SchoolCoordinatorContact Info
Director of Student and Family SupportEllen Wingardewingard@salemk12.org
Cell: 781-732-0137
Early ChildhoodErika Griffinegriffin@salemk12.org
978-740-1181
Cell:978-587-4943
Bentley AcademyHeather Perryhperry@salemk12.org
978-740-1260
Cell:978-778-5134
Bates ElementarySari Rudolphsrudolph@salemk12.org
978-740-1250
Cell: 978-778-8423
Carlton Innovation SchoolLiz Yodereyoder@salemk12.org
978-740-1280
Cell: 978-778-0069
Horace Mann Laboratory SchoolGenevieve Nuttgnutt@salemk12.org
978-740-1290
Cell: 781-732-0154
Witchcraft Heights Elementary SchoolMarlene Lunt

Aly Brennan
mlunt@salemk12.org
978-740-1271
Cell: 978-288-9110

abrennan@salemk12.org
978-740-1290
Saltonstall SchoolJoy Richmond SmithJrichmond-smith@salemk12.org
978-740-1297
Cell: 978-778-5429
Collins Middle SchoolBrad Maloon

Mia Riccio
bmaloon@salemk12.org
Cell: 978 740-1193

mriccio@salemk12.org
Cell: 978-522-0124